Did you know there were two nuclear plants at Fukushima?

Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant, was a multi-reactor nuclear power site in the Fukushima Prefecture of Japan. The Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster occurred after a 9.0 magnitude Tōhoku earthquake and subsequent tsunami on 11 March 2011, only 14 days before the reactor was to be shut down. This offshore earthquake, near the island of Honshu, produced a large tsunami in Japan.

Fukushima Daini Nuclear Power Plant, was a sister plant to Fukushima Daiichi. It is about 10 kilometers to the south. Daini also suffered severe damage but escaped Daiichi’s fate. The plant is located on a 150 ha (370-acre) site in the town of Naraha and Tomioka in the Futaba District of Fukushima Prefecture, Japan.

The Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO) runs the plants.

On December 26, 2011, the Prime Minister officially cancelled the nuclear emergency declaration for the Fukushima Daini plant officially ending the incident.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s